european adventures

liverpool.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It may sound a bit crazy, but this past weekend was probably one of the best weekends I’ve had at Harlaxton since I arrived.  Everyone, including myself, can get so caught up in traveling and trying to escape the manor that you don’t take the time to really appreciate where you are and the cities that England has to offer.  I’m so glad I took this weekend to sit back, relax and thoroughly enjoy where I’m so lucky to be living.

On Friday I was signed up to go on a free day-trip to Liverpool.  (The Beatles class was going on a field trip and just so happened to have extra spots available on the coach.)  Originally I was a little disappointed about this plan, as it was a backup after my plans to travel to Croatia fell through.  (No denying that it wouldn’t have been a lovely trip, but staying close to home was exactly what I needed this week.)  After traveling non-stop-every-weekend since I’ve been at Harlaxton, my body was ready for a low-key trip to Liverpool and some quality time at the manor.  (Especially after the “Harlaxton Plague” struck & left me sickly after returning from Milan.)

We left bright and early on Friday morning for a three-hour bus ride to Liverpool.  I didn’t really know what to expect in Liverpool besides the infamous Beatles Museum.  Turns out, Liverpool is also home to Liverpool Cathedral.  This cathedral is not only the second largest cathedral in Europe, but the sixth largest cathedral in the world!  We also took a jaunt through Cavern Club, which is the rock & roll club where the Beatles played hundreds of shows.  (Around 290-ish, if my memory serves me correctly.) It was such an awesome feeling to sit right in front of the stage and sing along to Beatles songs that were actually performed there LIVE by THE BEATLES once upon a time. We also had a crazy-little-old-man behind our table singing, dancing and putting on his own quite entertaining show.

Saturday & Sunday were spent resting, eating, doing homework, laundry, reading and enjoying time spent with friends! I wish I had the time to spend more peaceful weekends at the manor!  Unfortunately, this is both my first and last free weekend without travel plans.  From here on out, I will be going-going-going until I return to good ole’ Merica.  Regardless of the lack of rest that comes with this crazy lifestyle, I will always cherish every trip & the memories made!

I was reminded of this quote when I saw it painted on the side of a pub in Liverpool…

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” – John Lennon

Leave a Reply

